Two people wearing sunglasses looking up (still from The Attraction)

Image still from The Attraction

Depict '21 Call for Entries

Submissions are now open for DepicT! '21 – Watershed’s ultra-short film competition, part of Encounters Short Film Festival​.

We’re calling for creatives from around the world to submit your shorts of 90 seconds or under to be considered for this year’s shortlist and awards.

It doesn’t matter if you’ve got a big budget or a tiny one; whether you specialise in documentaries, animation or live-action - as long as your film is less than a minute and a half in length, you can submit your short to this year’s competition for free!

We’re on the look out for imaginative, original and engaging shorts, and in return the best of these, and the talent involved in making them, will receive support and exposure. Films which make it into the DepicT! ‘21 shortlist will be showcased online at and at the upcoming Encounters Film Festival (Sept 2021), the UK’s leading short film, animation and virtual reality festival. Encounters Film Festival is also an official gateway to the world’s most prestigious awards including; the Academy Awards®, BAFTAs, BIFAs and the European Film Awards and connects industry and audiences to celebrate the creativity, diversity and the impact of short film.

Shortlisted filmmakers will receive an Encounters Festival Pass, and will be in with a chance of winning up to £2,500 prize money thanks to sponsors including: The Royal Photographic Society and Aardman Animations as well as other exclusive prizes and opportunities to help you get to the next stage of your career courtesy of partners such as Channel 4’s Random Acts, BFI NETWORK, Aardman Animations, BAFTA, NFTS and Shooting People.

The award winners will be selected by a jury of distinguished industry professionals that meet during Encounters Film Festival. Previous jury members have included cinematographers such as Robbie Ryan BSC, Rachel Morrison A.S.C and Annemarie Lean-Vercoe FRPS, directors Peter Jackson and Roystan Tan and industry practitioners such as Sorcha Bacon (Producer and Try Hard Films founder), Catherine Bray (Channel 4’s Random Acts), Tabitha Jackson (Channel 4, Sundance), Chris Auty (National Film and Television School) and David Sproxton (Aardman Animations). All short-listed entries are also eligible to win the Audience Award.

Closing Date: Monday, 14 June 2021 - 17:00